You know, it doesn’t matter if your ancestors had one potato to eat all day back in the 1920’s. It doesn’t matter that your uncle lost all his money back in ‘the day.’ It doesn’t matter if your dad used to drink the household money away. It doesn’t matter if you think there is not enough or that there is enough. Every last one of us has some kind of belief when it comes to money. We know we have the beliefs and that is all we need to know. They made great stories when we were young but you don’t have to reinforce the perceptions of your ancestors through your own beliefs. Get to the bottom of the belief and change it. It’s just a habit.  All habits can be changed.

I used my family ‘lack’ stories as a perfect example of contrast for what I didn’t want. Sure, I loved to hear those old stories. Some were really humorous but that is all I used them for…was the comedy value and the learning of where some of my beliefs came from. Then…changed them as best as I could. I have to say…it feels pretty darn wonderful not to have a ‘lack’ story that I repeat to my own kids but they do hear Grandma and Grandpa’s stories. They know it was a long time ago the way things USED to be.


I wanted to add that it isn’t only lack that we learn from our families. We learn many many wonderful and not so wonderful beliefs that we decide to use or not use. I choose to see the strength, humor, insight, and love my ancestors used through their ‘hard’ times. They helped me to be who I am today. 🙂