talking

I had a woman email me and felt her problem was she couldn’t tell anyone ‘no.’ She said, “I wanted to take a drive to the coast and two of my gal friends asked if they could come. I just wanted to be by myself but I didn’t tell them no. I let them come with me. The whole purpose of the trip was to get away from all the gossip at the office and I just brought it along with me with the view of the ocean as the background.”

Do you have trouble saying ‘no’ when it comes to your life and your time? Why is it that we can feel guilty for spending a little time alone? We are so aware of others and their feelings that we seem to forget that we too have feelings that need to be taken care of as well. We can put ourselves last because we are uncomfortable telling another that we have needs as well.

When you are taking time for nurturing the self remind yourself that it is okay to say no. You’re not going away from that person at all, you are going to your self so you can take care of all of who you are. And that will help you to help others because you’ll have had time to rejuvenate and rest.

It’s perfectly fine to say no my friend.

