200068715-001

Life can take many different unexpected turns. It is in how we handle those turns that creates a more positive calm and steady flow. Taking care of you when you are taking care of others is a top priority. Make sure you take the time to nurture yourself as you nurture others. You won’t be able to be at your best if you run yourself ragged and remember that how you feel and think ‘within’ is what is creating more of the same kind of vibration in your life. Yesterday I took our daughter to the doctor and she, just like Lee, was diagnosed with pneumonia. The doctor said it is rare for two in the same household to have but not impossible. She was able to come home to heal while Lee is in the hospital healing. My first thought and urge is to move into ‘fix it’ mode. I come from a long line of ‘fixers.’ Every female on my father’s side as well as my mother’s side were strong, independent, take no prisoners fix it women. Yet they ran their selves ragged. I learned from our line of wonderful amazing strong ancestors and especially I learned from my mom and grandma by observing how they worked so hard and had nothing left at the end of the day. They were exhausted and stepped aside from who they were to help and care for everyone else but themselves. Yes, it was a way to love others and still is but I learned to balance who I am and nurture my body, mind, and spirit AND help others in a balanced way so that I didn’t get lost in it all.

So if you are one of those glorious ‘fixers,’ please remember to take care of you as well. You can be there for others and help them with their needs but make sure to be there for you as well and listen to what your body and spirit and what it may be telling you that YOU need. Rejuvenating the body, mind, and spirit through relaxation, a movie, reading a book, or just ‘being,’ will tell you that you matter as well.

